Logging is So Old School

Microsoft has revealed Visual Studio 2010 (aka Rosario) and its.Net Framework 4. One thing that immediately intrigues me is its new recorded debugging feature that allows us to “debug the past”, especially to tackle non-reproducable bugs, sort of like watching yesterday’s rugby match from your TiVo, with that remote in your hand to fast-forward and rewind as you like. I think this is a really brilliant idea, and I will nominate it for nobel prize for saving millions of developers nights. It might soon eliminate the word “non-reproducable bugs” completely from English vocabulary.
In several years time we might be living in a different world. Debugging is an activity to look into the past. Soon you might find yourself saying “What time yesterday did you see your button went missing? I will attach my debugger to there“. You will probably never spend any day staring behind thousands line of stack trace and logging information. Logs are for dinosaurs (let’s just forget about production issues for a moment). And I probably wouldn’t be bothered too much about writing logging in applications anymore.

3 thoughts on “Logging is So Old School

  1. That clause gives me a lot of convenience 😉

    Having said that, the policy in most of my projects, we never use logging level anywhere beyond FATAL/ERROR for production environments. Tracing information is only switched on in dev and test environment. (I’m curious about policies in other places).
    Additionally, in test environment, each client machine is equipped with screen recorder.

    I this case, trace log is not really that useful in production system either.

  2. Production we do the same, fatal errors are all that’s logged (usually we get an email notice as well since we do internal enterprise apps).

    I’ve never actually deployed an application in debug mode so I’m very curious how a recorder would help me find those crazy un-repoable errors the users always have a knack to find since they always seem to occur in production, not testing.

    Still, a very intriguing feature. I’ll be keeping an eye out for that when VS 2010 (sounds like a Clarke novel) ends up in my hands.

Leave a Reply

